One of the great things about being a beauty lover in our fast paced world is that we have so many options. We have so many brands and products to try, which is paralyzing for my indecisiveness!!

1-vegan-cruelty-free-makeup

2-vegan-cruelty-free-makeup

I’ve recently been trying to make myself far more aware of brands who offer cruelty free and vegan products, because a few of my friends have decided to go down that route. I haven’t made the switch as of yet, but I find this side of the beauty industry absolutely fascinating! This blog post is purely me sharing the first brand I have been testing out and sharing some facts I have picked up over the past couple of months.

I wanted to share some of the things I’ve been learning about cruelty free because I think it is really important to be a conscious consumer in today’s day and age.

 

  1. Terms like “natural” “sustainable” and “cruelty free” aren’t always what they seem. You have to make sure you research a product thoroughly before investing into it, if you’re wanted that specific item because of it’s claims
  2. Just because one company is cruelty free it does not mean that their parent company is
  3. Products do not need to be tested on animals in order to be deemed safe for you and me.
  4. Cruelty free is not regulated by any sort of industry standard
  5. In general, you can only be most certain about brands certified with a leaping bunny label, like Dermalogica, Jane Iredale, Ilia Beauty.
  6. If you’re a vegan, avoid the makeup colours containing Carmine and other animal based products.
  7. Alternatives to testing on animals include: Microdosing (where humans are given very low quantities of a substance to test its effects on the body at a cellular level) and non-invasive imagery techniques — such as MRIs and CT scans — as well as computational methods, including simulation models and virtual drug tests. Vitro testing — using test tubes and models based on human cell and tissue culture. These have been developed and validated by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

LIST OF MAKEUP BRANDS

Please note, not all these brands are suitable for vegans. But they are cruelty free.

  1. Jane Iredale www.janeiredale.com/
  2. Too Faced www.toofaced.com
  3. Makeup Geek www.makeupgeek.com
  4. Eco Tools www.ecotools.com
  5. Essence www.essence.eu/us/products/
  6. Pur Minerals www.purminerals.com
  7. NYX www.nyxcosmetics.com
  8. Furless Cosmetics www.furlesscosmetics.com.au
  9. Lime Crime www.limecrimemakeup.com
  10. Sugarpill www.sugarpillshop.com
  11. Lush www.lush.com.au
  12. Carmex mycarmex.com
  13. Badger Balm www.badgerbalm.com
  14. TOM Organic www.tomorganic.com.au
  15. Cosima Skincare www.cosimaskin.com
  16. SHE Australia www.sheaustralia.com.au
  17. Natio www.natio.com.au
  18. Sukin Organics www.sukinorganics.com
  19. Face of Australia www.faceofaustralia.com.au
  20. Australis www.australiscosmetics.com.au
  21. Chi Chi Australia www.chichicosmetics.com
  22. Designer Brands www.dbcosmetics.com.au
  23. Glo Minerals www.glostore.com.au
  24. Naked Tan www.nakedtan.com.au
  25. Eco Tan www.ecotan.com.au
  26. Burt’s Bees www.burtsbees.com.au
  27. Kester Black www.kesterblack.com

My suggestion: If cruelty free is important to you, the best thing to do is get to you know your brands!

There is a whole host of other makeup brands that offer cruelty free and vegan products, so if you have any favourites be sure to share them in the comment section below!  You can also find international and local brands here.

Because I am at the preliminary stages of understanding this side of makeup I am still yet to learn more, so if you have any insight you’d love to add, please be sure to leave a comment!

My new Jane Iredale products: Brush set (Cruelty free but not vegan), Lipstick, Lipliners.

vegan-cruelty-free-makeup

Author: Ally Carey

Hi, I am Ally, a writer and creative at Substance. I have worked in the fashion industry for 6+ years as a model and now on Substance. Substance is a lifestyle blog about fashion, beauty, health and self-improvement; hoping to inspire you to live a life filled with Substance. For more: @AllyMayCarey

1 thought on “A Beginners Guide To Cruelty Free & Vegan Makeup”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *